homemade iced tea

A few weeks ago Peter and I went out for breakfast to the crochet-covered, delicious-food-serving  Wild Poppy in Fremantle. We were a little disappointed when our iced tea came in glass bottles – rather than being homemade – but that only lasted until we tasted it.

I ordered a Peppermint, Lemon, Lime iced tea and it was the most refreshing drink I’d ever had. I can’t remember the brand name and it’s driving me nuts but when I got home I decided to make something similar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Several hours of trawling the internet later (okay, maybe it was more like 15 minutes) I mashed together a whole load of recipes to get this:

1 litre boiling water

1/3 cup of caster sugar

3 black teabags

1/2 a lemon

1/2 a lime

a sprig of mint (from my very own garden!)

Just add all the ingredients and stir until the caster sugar is dissolved. Take out the teabags after 3 minutes and the mint after about 15. Chuck it in the fridge til it’s cold and HOORAY ICED TEA.

It’s not quite as good as the mysterious iced tea from the Wild Poppy but it’s better than most shop iced teas and it’s a lot cheaper.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 responses to “homemade iced tea

  1. my mum made iced tea today! For the first time all summer. We usually have it all the time in summer, but it’s taken her forever to make some this year.

  2. Pingback: how does my garden grow? | Sylvia Morris

  3. Pingback: Veggie garden: wrap up. | Sylvia Morris

Leave a Reply

