New Years Resolution

If you read this post you might have thought, along with myself, that a good goal for the new year would be to get fit again. I wrote a whole blog post about it. And it’s definitely a good goal. But the more I thought about it the more I realised the reason I wanted to get fit was not that I wanted to be fit in and of itself – it was that I wanted to not be stressed anymore. I would love to be fit but I care more about not being stressed and I was choosing fitness because I knew it would help in that department.

So my goal is: become less stressed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m aware of the fact that getting rid of stress is a difficult goal and I also know that this is a tough one to judge. Will I know, at the end of the year, whether I’ve succeeded in being less stressed? I think so, although it won’t quite as easy to determine as last year’s goal of “Write A Book”.

But even if it’s difficult, and even if it’s open ended, it’s really important for me. Every time I’ve seen a doctor in the last 3 years (or so) they’ve sent me home with the message: “It’s probably just stress.” As if that’s meant to be some sort of consolation. I tick nearly all the boxes on the “Symptoms of Stress” lists and, trust me, it’s no fun.

I’ll be posting throughout the year about the ways I’m going about this and whether I think I’m succeeding or not.

Do you have any NY resolutions?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

(The aim is to get from the first picture to the second picture. Also, I just like posting pictures of Adelaide.)

Leave a Reply

